Baked Eggs in Avocados

I have to make a confession right off the bat here… I am not a big fan of breakfast foods. Pancakes, waffles, crepes… I really could take them or leave them. But I do love eggs. And living so close to Mexico I’ve also grown up loving avocado. When I ran across a picture of a baked avocado with an egg nested inside, I just had to try making it… like, yesterday.

I’m currently visiting a friend in north Washington state. (I mean, seriously, I can see Canada from the end of her street.) And the rumors I had heard that avocados cost about $3 a piece here had me a bit hesitant, but it seems I happened upon this little town right when it happened to have its only excess of avocados… ever. Because I scored four for $5. Better than $12! (Still… you can get 25 for $5 along our country roads in San Diego, but, hey, beggars can’t be choosers here.)

The one thing that I’ll say for this recipe is that I think it would be a lot better if I had been able to use large avocados with correspondingly larger pits and smaller eggs. My eggs were having a difficult time cooperating without the room to sit properly in the avocados, but, ultimately, I made it work and the result?

I cooked them too long. šŸ˜¦ The pin said to bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and I probably let them go for 20 or so. (Distraction is a real problem with me — oh, look, a squirrel.) The eggs were too hardened and the avocado too softened. When I get back to San Diego I’m going to try this again… maybe 325 for 10 minutes?

Baked Eggs in Avocados

My finished product, served with strawberries and barley.
(Sorry for the poor quality. I had to take a picture with my phone of my LCD screen on my camera since I left my transfer cable at home in San Diego.)

1 large avocado, halved with pit removed
2 small eggs
salt and pepper to tasteĀ 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place avocado halves skin-down in an oven safe glass dish. Pour an egg into the each of avocado halves. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until eggs are desired consistency.

Leave a Reply

