Homemade Breath-Freshening Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits

The trouble with writing on the topic of food is that word spreads fast, especially among my canine crew. Their noses have been going crazy over the last few days and before long the requests started flowing in. Poncho (our Cocker Spaniel from Mexico) requested tacos and Bear (our Teddy Bear Cocker Spaniel) has been bugging us for a wild berry salmon cake (he might actually be onto something there, but another day…), but it was ultimately our mutt named Scamp that won out. He was craving something peanut buttery that would also freshen his breath. (Okay, maybe that last part was my idea.)

And, so, to appease my canine buddies, I embarked on an adventure to create some homemade doggie biscuits.

And the natives were pleased.

For the recipe itself I used a slight combination of a couple recipes listed here. I liked the fresh breath aspect of Recipe #1, but lacked the dry milk needed for that recipe, so instead I opted for Recipe #2 with added Parsley.

Breath-Freshening Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 c rolled oats
  • 1/3 c peanut butter
  • 1 1/4 c hot water
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley

Preheat to 350° F.  Whisk together flour, oats and parsley together in large bowl. I used chunky peanut butter, so in order to eliminate the peanut chunks, I combined the hot water and the peanut butter in a food processor and let it all liquefy. I then added this to the dry mixture and kneaded it with my hands until it formed into a smooth ball. Roll with rolling pin to desired thickness and cut with cookie cutters, or make one big cookie and break it apart when it’s cooled. My dogs, however, appreciate the little details, so we made them heart shaped. 🙂

Gemma, my niece and trusty sidekick, was more than happy to man the cookie cutting duties.

And… the finished product:

Doggie biscuits of looooove. 🙂

Leave a Reply

