Rotisserie Chicken

It was a challenge, really. I had a recently-thawed whole chicken staring me in the face, daring me to make it something worthwhile for dinner.

I like to think I rose to the challenge.

That chip in the plate really adds to the ambiance of the shot, doesn’t it?

Okay, so it isn’t very pretty, but it turned out great taste-wise. I mixed up a handful of spices (equal parts lemon thyme, sweet basil, rosemary and marjoram/oregano), cut up an onion and, after removing the gizzards, I proceeded to further violate that poor chicken by placing the onion and about half the spices where its innards once resided. I then rubbed the skin with olive oil and the remaining spices and stuck that baby on the rotisserie for two hours. (You may be able to achieve the same type of results with baking it in the oven, but I can’t say for sure.)

So simple, but so delicious.

Leave a Reply

