Heavenly Carrots

Just like the concept of slicing a cabbage up and baking it, I was skeptical that just plain seasoned carrots could be amazing, but after the day at the fair yesterday with all those heavy fried foods, I needed something light and simple. Just like with the cabbage slices, my predictions about these carrots were so very wrong.

 

I loved these so much that I actually went back out to the store for more carrots and made more. They are soft yet firm and the varying thickness of the pieces that I made actually yielded a slightly different consistency for the thinner and thicker ones, which were both delectable.

 

The recipe left a lot of room for creativity with spices, so I was left to my own devices to decide what to use. I settled on ground coriander seed, ground cumin, chili powder and salt and pepper. I used the olive oil to coat the carrots before mixing them together in a bowl with the spices. (By the way, easy on the chili powder if you decide to use it.)

I baked these for about 25 minutes at 425 degrees F and awkwardly tried to flip them halfway through.

I have a hunch that even my husband (he who claims vegetables are “for decorative purposes only”) would like these. Too bad there likely won’t be any left by the time he gets home. 🙂

If you happen to try these with other spice combinations, please let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

