World’s Softest Bread Machine Sandwich Bread

I have to admit that I am a bit embarrassed by the level of excitement I reached after trying this bread. You see, I have been on a mission for a while now to find a sandwich bread that could be made in a bread maker and simultaneously meet the impossibly very high standards of my family.

My challenge was to find a bread that was as soft and fluffy as the store-bought kind, and after much trial and error, I was about to give up. Luckily, fate intervened and I stumbled across this recipe by Kristen Doyle of dineanddish.net. The heavens parted, angels sang, and N’Sync got back together.

Okay, maybe it wasn’t exactly like that, but close enough.

I just cant say enough about how wonderfully this bread turned out. The crust was flavorful, but not overwhelming, and the inside was perfectly moist and soft. I wholeheartedly believe that this recipe is a tastier and cheaper alternative to store-bought bread and I’m quite certain we’ll be making a loaf every day or two. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did!

Perfection. (And by perfection I clearly do not mean the photography.)

Softest Ever Bread Machine Bread

“Ingredients:
1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 (1/4 ounce) package bread machine yeast
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1 Place the water, sugar and yeast in the pan of the bread machine.
2 Let the yeast dissolve and foam for 10 minutes.
3 Add the oil, flour and salt to the yeast.
4 Select Basic or White Bread setting, and press Start.
5 You can also use the dough cycle of your bread maker and then place in a greased loaf pan; punch down and let rise again and then bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until done.”

Kate’s Notes: I actually used regular active dry yeast for my bread and let it foam for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

