Make It Yourself Monday: Fruit Snacks

I made… fruit snacks. No kidding. Fruit snacks.

I can not, however, tell you how long it would take the average human being to make this recipe, because I am not the average human being. Nope, not even close. I consistently have this urge to turn a recipe calling for 2/3 cup lemon juice and 2/3 cup berries into an all day lemon juicing spree wherein I juice no less than 200 lemons “just so I can have lemon juice on hand for the next time I make fruit snacks.” You know, before I actually MAKE said fruit snacks, or know whether they’ll turn out. I’m just OCD a classic overachiever like that. 😉

fruit snacksSo, three billion lemons, an Amazon order of grass-fed gelatin, and a flat of Farmers’ Market strawberries later, I had my very own strawberry fruit snacks.

And the verdict? Different, but delicious. At first I thought they might be too rubbery, but after having a couple I got used to the texture and actually really like them. Even the hubby signed off on them, which is a feat in itself for any make-it-yourself adventures.

And the best part? I totally happen to have some fresh lemon juice for the next batch. Score.

Strawberry Fruit Snacks

Note: Recipe is by Robin of thankyourbody.com. I paraphrased it with my own input here, but feel free to read the original recipe here.

Ingredients:

2 cups Meyer lemon juice *
2 cups strawberries
15 tbsp grass-fed gelatin **
6 tbsp sugar (The original recipe called for honey. I didn’t have any on hand.)

Combine the juice and berries in a small pot and heat over medium heat until the berries begin to soften. Add honey/sugar and stir until dissolved. Remove from heat. Add to food processor and puree well. ** Let cool for approximately ten minutes before adding in gelatin one tablespoon at a time, whisking well to avoid clumps. (Puree again should clumps form.) Pour mixture into a large glass baking pan. (I believe mine was somewhere in the neighborhood of 11X8.) Chill in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Cut into small squares and enjoy!

* Meyer lemons are slightly sweeter than normal lemons. You can use normal lemons for more tartness or orange juice for more sweetness.
** Evidently grass-fed gelatin is actually really good for you. Who knew? You can check out a snapshot of its health benefits here.
*** The original recipe called for an immersion blender for the mixing. I used my food processor and did just fine.

One comment

  1. I was very pleased to uncover this website. I want to to thank you for ones
    time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff in your site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

