Make It Yourself Monday: (Kinda) Cheez-It Crackers

I’m going to be frank with you here. (Though I must admit it’s a little less genuine seeing as how my name is not really Frank.)

I could survive for at least a year on Cheez-Its and goldfish crackers. Seriously. I can not get enough of them.

(Not) Cheez-its

Then I stumbled across this recipe on Pinterest recently, and there was just no question that I would have to try my hand at making them.

Oh. My. Lord. These were GOOOOOOOD.

The verdict?

They may even be perhaps my favorite recipe I’ve ever made. They were so delectably buttery, and salty, and cheesy, coupled with just the right amount of crispy and soft.

And the best part? These were EASY EASY EASY!

And did I mention they were easy? Because they were.

Oh, and if anyone needs me, I’ll be hiding in the corner with the rest of the kinda sorta cheez-its.

Homemade Cheddar Cheese Snippets (aka Goldfish)

by MissouriMomma

  • 8 ounces, weight Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Shredded-(Hiland is local for us)
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter, Cut Into Cubes (unsalted)
  • 1 cup Flour
  • ¾ teaspoons Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Cold Water
  • 1Tbsp of parmesan cheese (sprinkle cheese-the tweakness)

Pulse everything (except water) together in the food processor until the dough resembles coarse sand.

Pulse in water, 1 tablespoon at a time.

Remove dough from the processor, wrap in plastic, and chill for 20 minutes.

Roll out the dough and cut into desired shapes. You can use a toothpick to make the eyes and smile if desired. Place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. (Kate’s note: sprinkle salt on top. You’ll be glad you did.)

Bake at 350 degrees F for about 15 minutes, or until crispy.

Makes approximately 7 dozen crackers.”

Leave a Reply

