Just your run of the mill scrambled eggs… only better.

We had two chickens until a few weeks ago. Now we have eight chickens. Let’s just say, we happen to have a few eggs on hand… and a person can only eat the same bowl of scrambled eggs so many days in a row before cracking. (Get it? Cracking? Ba-dum-ch!)

So, it was this morning that I found myself in a familiar spot. I was staring at a bowl of well-mixed eggs thinking about all the other things I would rather be eating. Then it dawned on me. Maybe I could add something to the eggs to fancy ’em up a bit.

Naturally, I did what I always do to fancy things up. I stared into the fridge for a few minutes scratching my head. Milk… that was a given. Actually, maybe heavy whipping cream could make them richer. Sour cream? Well, ummm… I guess… maybe… ah, what the heck, it couldn’t hurt, right?

I was wary.

I mixed and I blended…

scrambled egg mix

…and I hoped for the best.

scrambledd eggs

Luckily, I struck gold. I’m convinced that these eggs will go down in history right behind Alfred Nobel’s dynamite and Percy Spencer’s microwave. Okay, perhaps I may be exaggerating a bit, but not by as much as you might think. These eggs may have looked run of the mill, but appearances can deceive, my friends. They were velvety, and fluffy, and rich, and a wonderful break from your run of the mill scrambled eggs.

It’s the little things in life…

Kate’s Amazing Spectacular Hyperbolic Scrambled Eggs

Ingredients

6 eggs
approximately 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream (or milk)
two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Combine ingredients in a stand mixer and whisk until well incorporated. Transfer mixture to a microwaveable bowl and cook for three minutes. Stir. Cook for an additional two minutes. Stir again and serve warm.

Note: I’ve had many a bowl go into the microwave with eggs in it only to come out with baked-on egg mess that takes a ridiculous amount of elbow grease to get rid of. To avoid this headache, I suggest greasing your microwaveable bowl before you transfer the mixture. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

