Spearmint and Hibiscus Tea

Few things in life can provide me with as much satisfaction as a recipe made with ingredients from the yard. Eggs and lemons are our primary homegrown staples, but we also have a host of other crops, and among them are spearmint and hibiscus. (I tend to forget that hibiscus is edible until I run across a recipe using it.)

hibiscus flowers

As I realized today just how many hibiscus flowers were in bloom, I was inspired to try my hand at making hibiscus tea, an idea that I have often seen floating around Pinterest and that I heard a friend had recently made for guests.

It was, à la Borat, a great success!

I’m glad I added in the spearmint, because the flowery and minty flavors were wonderful together. I’d caution you not to use too much mint, though, as it overpowers the hibiscus easily. I also recommend you make a double batch. After all was said and done, there was only about a third of a pitcher of tea, which is great if you’re drinking it hot by the glass, but not so much if you want more than a couple iced glasses of it.

I must say, though, that the best part of making this tea was simply how fast the magic started happening as soon as the flowers dropped into the hot water. They instantly started to lose their color and it made me ridiculously excited to watch. If anything, I recommend you try this recipe purely for the entertainment value… and also to say you made something edible out of hibiscus flowers, because when you get right down to it, making a beverage out of hibiscus flowers is pretty impressive.

Spearmint and Hibiscus Tea… it’s like a tropical vacation in a glass!

hibiscus iced tea

Spearmint and Hibiscus Tea

Ingredients:

9 cups water
13 fresh hibiscus flowers
3 fresh spearmint leaves
1/4 cup sugar

Directions:

Rinse flowers thoroughly. Bring water to a boil. Remove from heat. Add sugar and stir. Add flowers and spearmint. Steep for 20 minutes. Strain into a pitcher. Can be served hot or iced.

If you’re interested, you can check out the neat pictures of the flowers starting to steep here and after a few minutes here.

Leave a Reply

